Egli Named Gregg Olson Award Finalist

Egli Named Gregg Olson Award Finalist

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Nick Egli (Brentwood, Tenn.) continues to receive recognition for an outstanding senior campaign for Belmont baseball. The recent graduate has been named a finalist for the 2017 Gregg Olson Award presented by Toolshed Sports, an honor that recognizes college baseball's breakout player of the year. The annual award is given to a top amateur baseball player who elevates his game to an elite level throughout the season. 

Egli accurately depicts the Gregg Olson Award, having put up numbers that rank atop the nation after struggling to produce at the plate his junior season. The Brentwood, Tenn. product registered a quiet .175 batting average registering 10 hits, two doubles and three home runs in 2016. This year, he lead the squad with a batting average of .353 while launching 18 home runs and 17 doubles. Egli tallied 54 RBIs and a slugging percentage of .715, ranking him ninth in the country.

Being named to the Gregg Olson semifinalist is only one of the many accolades Egli has earned concluding his final year. He was also named to the All-OVC First Team roster as well as CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team and Collegiate Baseball All-America Third Team rosters.


After a freshman season at Auburn filled with only mixed success, Gregg Olson became one of the top collegiate players in the nation during an outstanding, unprecedented sophomore season. Despite being omitted from any preseason All-American lists, Olson went on to lead the entire nation in ERA with a 1.26 mark and compiled an incredible 11-1 record with 10 saves for the Tigers.

Following a summer pitching for the USA National Team where he led the club in strikeouts, Olson returned to Auburn for another spectacular season. He led the SEC with a 2.00 ERA and amassed a triple-digit strikeout total, issuing 113 K's in only 72 innings with only 27 walks. He finished his collegiate career with back-to-back First Team All American honors, a 25-7 record, 3.03 ERA, 20 saves, 271 strikeouts and redefined the way college coaches used their top pitcher.

The Olson Award has been developed to honor college baseball's success stories and showcase players like Olson who have raised the level of their game through hard work, strength of mind and determination. Eligible players will be those who are omitted from major publication's preseason All-American prognostications; however by the end of the season their on the field performance will demonstrate that they are among the top amateur baseball players in the nation.

The winner of the 2017 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park.

For more information visit: 

2017 Gregg Olson Award Finalists
▪ Brett Conine, Cal State Fullerton
Nick Egli, Belmont 
▪ Ryan Flick, Tennessee Tech
▪ Will Robertson, Davidson
▪ Jake Thomopson, Oregon State