OVC Legend

OVC Legend

BRENTWOOD, Tenn.- Former Belmont University women's basketball player Kelli Davis Weathers will be honored as the University's recipient of the Ohio Valley Conference Basketball Legend award, the league office announced Friday. 

For the third year in a row the OVC will recognize men's and women's basketball legends from each of its member institutions during the OVC Basketball Tournament. The legends will be recognized through signage, P.A. announcements and a game program feature story during the event.

Davis Weathers enjoyed quite an illustrious career, starring at Belmont from 1990-94, and holds several program records including most points in a single season (794), single season points per game average (22.7), single season three-pointers made (126) and career three-pointers made (415). Davis Weathers ranks third all-time in career points with 2,351 and is one of just three players to eclipse the 2,000 point plateau in program history. Davis Weathers was a first-team NAIA All-American pick in 1994 and Belmont retired her No. 25 jersey on January 15, 1996.

With roots dating back to 1948, the OVC and its member institutions have produced many outstanding student-athletes who have earned numerous accolades and led their respective schools to success on the hardwood.

Each OVC member institution identifies both a male and female legend to be honored through signage and announcements at this year's and next year's championship. This year the league selected six male student-athletes and six female student-athletes and next year the next group of 12 legends will be honored.

Last February Davis Weathers was featured in Belmont's Student-Athlete Alumni Spotlight click here to view the article.

View the full OVC release here.

2016-17 OVC Legend Honorees

Austin Peay: Trenton Hassell
Belmont: Kelli Davis Weathers
Eastern Illinois: Kyle Hill
Eastern Kentucky: Lisa Goodin
Jacksonville State: Dana Bright
Morehead State: Ricky Minard
Murray State: Ronald "Popeye" Jones
Southeast Missouri: Sonya Daugherty
SIUE: J.B. Jones
Tennessee State: Robert Covington
Tennessee Tech: Cheryl Taylor
UT Martin: Jasmine Newsome