OVC Academic Medal of Honor

OVC Academic Medal of Honor

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - The Ohio Valley Conference announced Wednesday student-athletes having earned the OVC Academic Medal of Honor for the 2016-17 academic year.

Belmont University boasted 11 student-athletes: Nick Egli (Brentwood, Tenn.) of baseball, Tyler Hadden (Cincinnati, Ohio) of men's basketball, Jessica King (Fishers, Ind.) of women's cross country and track & field, Abbie Gregory (Hendersonville, Tenn.) of women's golf, Tara Austin (Beaumont, Texas), Anna Brock Hawkins (Murfreesboro, Tenn.) and Kameron Ziesig (Brentwood, Tenn.) of women's soccer, Ashley Johnson (Kingwood, Texas) and Shersty Stanton (Pinckneyville, Ill.) of softball, and Sean Magnuson (Mokena, Ill.) and Ben Weisel (Nashville, Tenn.) of men's track & field.

The OVC Academic Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athletes who achieves the highest grade point average in a Conference-sponsored sport. Every Academic Medal of Honor recipient for the 2016-17 academic year carried a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

Gregory, Hadden, Johnson, King, Stanton and Weisel also earned OVC Academic Medal of Honor awards last year.

Of the 221 award winners, 22 were awarded Academic Medals of Honor for multiple sports (and counted just once in the final recipients list).

A complete listing of award winners can be found here.

The OVC will announce the recipients of the Commissioner's Honor Roll later this week and the Academic Achievement Award and the Team Academic Achievement Awards next week.