Seven Bruins Receive A-Sun Postseason Honors

Seven Bruins Receive A-Sun Postseason Honors

MACON, Ga. – Seven members of the Atlantic Sun Conference regular season champion Belmont Bruins earned postseason honors, as announced by the league on Tuesday.  The seven honorees marked the most ever for Belmont Baseball, and tied the Bruins for the most in 2012 with Kennesaw State.

Junior Chase Brookshire (Chattanooga, Tenn.) and senior captain Zac Mitchell (Cordova, Tenn.) earned first team all-conference honors, while junior captain Drew Turner (Shelbyville, Tenn.) and junior Judah Akers were named to the second team.  Freshmen Matt Beaty (Dresden, Tenn.), Scott Moses (Englewood, Tenn.), and Austin Coley (Murfreesboro, Tenn.) were all named to the A-Sun All-Freshman Team.

"I think it's reflective of our performance in the conference this year," Head Coach Dave Jarvis said of the team receiving seven honors.  "It is well deserved for a group of great and talented young men."

Brookshire, who was one of only two unanimous selections for the league's first team, earned A-Sun postseason accolades for the third straight season.  In 2010 he was named to the all-freshman team, and last season the left-hander was a second team selection.  Brookshire was third in the league with a 2.22 ERA and .217 opponent batting average this season.

Following an outstanding regular season, Mitchell was named the first team second baseman by the Atlantic Sun coaches.  The senior captain led the league with a .492 on base percentage, 58 runs scored, and 28 times hits by a pitch.  Mitchell has led the Bruins on both offense and defense, adding a number of outstanding plays at second base and a .968 fielding percentage.

Juniors Turner and Akers both earned postseason honors for the first time in their respective careers on Tuesday.  The former was one of three outfielders on the All-A-Sun Second Team after increasing his .295 average to .340 during conference games.  The latter was named the second team's designated hitter following an outstanding .322 average, 16 double, 30 RBI campaign.

Not only is Belmont the defending Atlantic Sun Champion, and the current regular season champ, but the Bruins' future looks bright as three freshmen were honored on Tuesday.  Beaty earned the accolades after leading BU in triples (5), home runs (7), and RBI (42) during his first season in Nashville.  Moses led Belmont with a 1.03 ERA in 25 appearances on the mound, while Coley solidified the Bruin bullpen with a 2-0 record and 2.87 ERA.

"It is an indication of what a great job my assistant coaches are doing of bringing in very talented young men to Belmont," Jarvis said of three freshmen being honored on Tuesday.  "So many of these kids are such a great fit for Belmont; academically as well as athletically."

USC Upstate's Gaither Bumgardner was named Player of the Year, while the Spartans' Matt Fincher was named Coach of the Year in the conference.  FGCU's Ricky Knapp, the other unanimous selection to the first team, was named the Pitcher of the Year.  Mercer's Chesny Young earned the honor of Freshman of the Year in the A-Sun.

Click Here For All Honorees of Atlantic Sun Conference Postseason Awards

Belmont will now look towards this season's team goal of winning a second straight conference championship.  The Bruins play the host Stetson Hatters at 6:00 p.m. CT on Wednesday.