Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Windler Honored

Windler Honored

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - Belmont University senior All-America candidate Dylan Windler (Indianapolis, Ind.) has been named to the 2019 Julius Erving Award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Named after Hall of Famer and 11-time NBA All-Star Julius Erving, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

"Julius Erving is well-known for his flare and competitive spirit which have made him one of the most admired and respected in the game across all generations," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "It is an honor to have his involvement in the Naismith Starting 5 and we look forward to recognizing the young man who most closely mirrors the passion and athleticism of Dr. J this season."

The 6-7 guard/forward emerged as one of the top two-way players in college basketball last season. The Indianapolis native ranked among NCAA leaders in double-doubles (15) and defensive rebounds (250) and scored in double figures of 31 games.

Windler, an All-OVC First Team selection and Mid-Major All-America honoree, posted a career-high 36-point, 20-rebound performance vs. Morehead State (2/17/18), joining Marvin Bagley of Duke and Jo Lual-Acuil of Baylor as one of only three players in the nation to record a 30-20 game in 2017-18.

A three-time OVC Player of the Week and three-time Tennessee Sports Writers Association (TSWA) Player of the Week honoree, Windler was among OVC leaders in nine statistical categories, including fourth in scoring (17.3) and first in rebounding (9.3).

Windler also earned CoSIDA Academic All-America honors and is a three-time OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll recipient.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and sponsored by Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

For more information on the 2019 Julius Erving Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates 

Dylan Windler Belmont 

Cam Reddish Duke  

Elijah Minnie Eastern Michigan 

Rui Hachimura Gonzaga 

Keldon Johnson Kentucky 

Sam Hauser Marquette 

Aaron Wiggins Maryland 

Caleb Martin Nevada 

Nassir Little North Carolina 

Louis King Oregon 

Tres Tinkle Oregon St 

Lamar Stevens Penn St 

O'Shea Brissett Syracuse 

Admiral Schofield Tennessee 

Jordon Varnado Troy 

Kris Wilkes UCLA 

De'Andre Hunter Virginia 

Jaylen Hoard Wake Forest 

Matisse Thybulle Washington 

Robert Franks Jr. Washington St.

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 12 of the last 13 seasons, including seven automatic berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 16 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs eight consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only nine NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 13 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 16 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is one of only three NCAA Division I programs to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.