Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Heady Company

Heady Company

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - Belmont University senior All-America candidate Dylan Windler (Indianapolis, Ind.) will serve as the lone student-athlete representative on the 2018-19 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Competition Committee.

The 12-member committee comprised of athletic administrators, head coaches, and contributors to the game will have regular communication with the NCAA Men's Basketball Rules Committee and will review student-athlete health and safety, sportsmanship and integrity, game operations and presentation, technology, and statistical trends. The group will develop strategic principles in these areas, subject to the approval of the Men's Basketball Oversight Committee.

"The competition committee will focus on strategies to maintain the popularity and relevance of the sport and keep the game playable for our student-athletes and watchable for our fans," said Dan Guerrero, the director of athletics at the University of California, Los Angeles. "We are confident this group is going to make significant contributions to the betterment of college basketball."

Windler is just the second student-athlete ever to serve on the committee, succeeding outgoing Nicholas Norton of UAB.

The 6-8 guard/forward has keyed Belmont to 67 victories through his first three campaigns, and was the only player in America to average 17.0 ppg, 9.0 rpg, 2.5 apg and shoot 40 percent from 3-point distance last season. He was named to the Julius Erving Award Watch List Oct. 17.

Windler is the men's basketball representative on the Belmont University Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

2018-19 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Competition Committee

  • Dylan Windler, Belmont Student-Athlete
  • Jim Delany, Big Ten Conference Commissioner
  • Paul Brazeau, Atlantic Coast Conference Senior Associate Commissioner
  • Judy Rose, UNC Charlotte Athletic Director
  • Dan Leibovitz, Southeastern Conference Associate Commissioner
  • Stu Jackson, Big East Conference Senior Associate Commissioner
  • Samantha Huge, William & Mary Athletic Director
  • Ernie Kent, Washington State Head Coach
  • Bob McKillop, Davidson Head Coach
  • Jay Bilas, ESPN Basketball Analyst
  • Kiki VanDeWeghe, NBA Executive
  • Clark Kellogg, CBS Basketball Analyst

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 12 of the last 13 seasons, including seven automatic berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 16 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs eight consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only nine NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 13 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 16 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is one of only three NCAA Division I programs to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.