Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

National Honor

National Honor

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - - Belmont University men's basketball senior Dylan Windler (Indianapolis, Ind.) has been named one of 10 candidates for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

For Windler, this is the latest in a series of national honors.

The 6-8 forward is a candidate for the Lou Henson Player of the Year Award, was named as the No. 5 senior in college basketball by and First Team All-Indiana by the Indianapolis Star.

A 2018 Mid-Major All-American and First Team All-OVC honoree, Windler is one of five NCAA Division I men's basketball players in America averaging 19.0 points per game and 10.0 rebounds per game entering February.

Windler has 28 career double-doubles, including four this season with 30 or more points.

To date, Windler has been a part of 84 Belmont victories in his three-plus seasons; he ranks eighth on Belmont's NCAA Division I era career scoring list with 1,391 points.

The Indianapolis native was the only player in America to average 17.0 ppg, 9.0 rpg, 2.5 apg and shoot 40 percent from 3-point distance last season.

This marks the second time in three years Belmont has had a candidate for the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award (Evan Bradds, 2017).

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates 

Dylan Windler


Rui Hachimura


Marial Shayok

Iowa St.

Keldon Johnson


Charles Matthews


Caleb Martin


Tres Tinkle

Oregon St.

KZ Okpala


Admiral Schofield


De'Andre Hunter


Belmont (17-4) returns to game action Thursday at Eastern Kentucky.

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 12 of the last 13 seasons, including seven automatic berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 16 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs eight consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only nine NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 13 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 16 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is one of only three NCAA Division I programs to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.