Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

We're In!

We're In!

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - - Belmont University men's basketball will face Temple Tuesday, March 19 in the First Four of the 2019 NCAA Men's Basketball Championship.

Tip-off is set for 8:10 p.m. CT from University of Dayton Arena in Dayton, Ohio. The game will be broadcast on truTV, March Madness Live and Westwood One.

The Bruins earned an 11 seed, with the winner facing 6th-seeded Maryland Thursday in Jacksonville, Florida.

Belmont (26-5), which secured its 10th conference regular season championship in 14 years, earned the first NCAA Tournament at-large bid in program history, and the second in Ohio Valley Conference history (Middle Tennessee, 1987). This will be Belmont's eighth NCAA Tournament appearance (2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019).

The Bruins rank top 25 nationally in 12 statistical categories, including first in assists per game and total assists, second in scoring offense and assist to turnover ratio, fifth in field goal percentage, and sixth in offensive efficiency and defensive rebounding.

The game features two of the most respected and longest-tenured coaches in America; Belmont's Rick Byrd and Temple's Fran Dunphy.

This marks the first meeting between Belmont and Temple.

Belmont University men's basketball has earned postseason invitations 13 of the last 14 seasons, including eight berths to the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won 17 conference championships since 2006 - third-most nationally over that span (Gonzaga, Kansas). Belmont is one of only six NCAA Division I programs outside the Power 5 to post Top 100 RPIs eight consecutive seasons (BYU, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's (CA), San Diego State, Wichita State). Belmont is one of only nine NCAA Division I programs to win 19 or more games 14 consecutive seasons (BYU, Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina, San Diego State). Belmont University men's basketball boasts an NCAA-leading 17 CoSIDA Academic All-America selections since 2001 and is one of only three NCAA Division I programs to make the NCAA Academic Progress Rate (APR) Honor Roll every year of existence.