Visbeen Receives Hancock-Nipper Sportsmanship Award

Alyssa Visbeen
Alyssa Visbeen

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Junior Alyssa Visbeen (Franklin, Tenn.) of the Belmont women's basketball team was named a recipient of the A.D. Hancock-Walter Nipper Sportsmanship Award for Basketball by the Nashville City Civitan Club in a ceremony on Wednesday.

The A.D. Hancock-Walter Nipper Sportsmanship Award is presented annually to a player from each of the Davidson County college teams that best displays outstanding sportsmanship qualities.  The award is named after two long-time members of the Nashville City Civitan Club: A.D. Hancock, a highly-respected educator, and Walter Nipper, owner of Nashville Sporting Goods, who contributed much to the Nashville community.

Visbeen wrapped her junior campaign as the Bruins' second-leading rebounder, pulling down 3.2 boards per contest.  The Franklin, Tennessee native was also the team's fourth-leading scorer, averaging 6.0 points per game.  

Also receiving recognition from local universities for their outstanding sportsmanship was: Belmont's Scott Saunders, Lipscomb's Leah McAlister and Justin Glen, Tennessee State's Kim Haynes and Vanderbilt's Jordan Coleman.

Former Bruin Tereva Moore (Memphis, Tenn.) received the award last Spring.

The A.D. Hancock - Walter Nipper Basketball Sportsmanship Award is presented by the Nashville City Civitan Club, which is a local organization that volunteers with community outreach groups such as the Salvation Army, Big Brothers & Big Sisters and the Special Olympics.