Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Belmont Hosts A-Sun Cross Country Championships This Saturday

Belmont Hosts A-Sun Cross Country Championships This Saturday

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Belmont University and the men's and women's cross country teams will host the Atlantic Sun Conference Championships this Saturday at Percy Warner Park in Nashville.  The men's eight kilometer race will start at 10:00 a.m. and the women's five kilometer will begin at approximately 10:45 a.m.

The pair of races to be held at the Vaughn's Gap Cross Country Course marks the second time Belmont has hosted the A-Sun event, and the first since 2004.  That year, both the men's and women's teams won the conference championship.  This Saturday, the women will attempt to win the league meet for the first time since 2008, while the men will try to take home the trophy for the first time since 2007.

The Bruin men come into the championship meet at the top of the conference polls.  The last time the league coaches voted, Belmont earned 94 total points, while Kennesaw State picked up 92 for second.  The Owls won last year's championship for the second season in a row, as Belmont took second.  Junior Matt Miller (LaPorte, Ind.) has led the Bruins in every meet this year, being named A-Sun Runner of the Week twice.

BU's women's team comes off its first meet victory of the year.  The Bruins beat 10 other squads en route to winning the Evansville Invitational on October 15.  Belmont was ranked fourth in the most recent A-Sun Coaches' Poll, while defending champion North Florida topped the poll.  Senior Caitlin Standifer (Plano, Texas), junior Nicole Muldowney (Hoover, Ala.), and freshman Mia Elbon (Nashville, Tenn.) lead the Bruin squad, each leading the team at one point this 2011 season.

A-Sun Men's XC Championship Central

A-Sun Women's XC Championship Central

Men's Cross Country Coach Jeff Langdon Preview Video